books

Who, What, Where, Why, When and How (Much) ?

the Search

I started reading this book yesterday. Interestingly, the title of chapter two is “Who, What, Where, Why, When and How (Much)”. These are famously known as “Five Ws” (and one H) and were memorialized by Rudyard Kipling in a poem accompanying the tale of “The Elephant’s Child” which opens with:

I keep six honest serving-men:
(They taught me all I knew)

Their names are What and Where and When
And How and Why and Who.

I’v tried to answer them here with reference to “search”.

Who: We all

What: anything and everything

Where: Google…need more?, here is the full list just for you!

Why: find information / ego surfing / learn new things / tutorials / definitions …..

When: As per the need..[want to know how it began?]

How (Much): fully dependent on it..aren’t we?

I am a Googler [Read: A person who uses Google‘s features very efficiently and Fan of Google], What about you? Do you agree on the answers given above? It would be interesting if you could try to answer “Who, What, Where, Why, When and How (Much) ?”

2 thoughts on “Who, What, Where, Why, When and How (Much) ?

  1. Yea me too . . . in fact sometimes the amount of “dependency” (if i can call it that) i have on Google scares me. I use so many of its products (notebook, mail, calendar, reader, documents) and i think they are really good. Some are exceptional while some are normal.

    As far as the questions go . . . i’ll talk about Google reader (sounds fair since i am reading this post in Google Reader 🙂 )

    Who: Me
    What: Google Reader
    Where: Online
    Why: To get my daily fix of a lot news snippets and bits and pieces of information that i may end up never using 🙂
    When: 5 million times a day (or something close to it)
    How (Much): (dependant?) totally addicted to it

  2. @ sentient

    thanks for the comment 🙂

    well, if i talk about various google products, its a long list for me too!
    to start with google toolbar, search, gmail/gtalk, reader, calender, documents, analytics, webmasters…..

    and ya, I too agree on Google Reader..I’m addicted to it too 😉

Leave a Reply

