Movie Reviews

Jodhaa Akbar!

I am going for this movie today [here is the official website], will post the review after I come back!

Update:

200px-jodhaaakbar_poster.jpg

I like to watch historical films/serials and I am a Fan of K. Asif’s Mughal-E-Azam. This inspired me to go for Jodhaa Akbar.I can’t say “Subhanallah” [read:wow!] but its a good movie, must watch once atleast.

As Ashutosh Gowarikar says, its not a true story but he has managed to portray it in a very natural way and you do get the feeling that this would have happened in reality way back in 16th century. For example, the issues raised with the marriage of a hindu princess “Jodhaa” and a mugal emperor “Jalaluddin“. Though there are certain things which one cannot relate to or cannot imagine that this would have happened but I would say thats negligible as ultimately its fictional and purely based on imagination.

Throughout the movie, I didn’t feel bored or got lost, flow of the story was holding. I quite liked the narration of the story, use of bright colors and cinematography. Hrithik Roshan and Aishwaria Rai has done a great job.

As far as music goes, A.R. Rahman has again done a great job. “Jashn-E-Bahaara”, “Azeem O Shaan Shehenshah” and “Khwaja Mere Khwaja” are all good tracks.

The controversy: I don’t really think that there is anything in the movie which is controversial and ultimately its just a movie which is based on imagination and is meant to entertain people and one should keep that in mind. I am sure all those who went for this movie did not find anything controversial or didn’t even get time to think about it while watching this movie.

In all, its a good movie. I cannot even think of comparing it with Mughal-E-Azam but Ashutosh Gowarikar has done a great job.

So for now, Takhlia (meaning disperse) 😉

Leave a Reply

